

Faculty Senate 2016 2017

MINUTES: September 21, 2016 Whirlpool Room, Chan Shun Hall 6:00-8:00 pm

J. Ledesma, Chair; K. Bailey, acting rec sect'y

Present: S. Badenas, K. Bailey, A. Baltazar, S. Bell, A. Coria-Navia, F. Cortez, D. Davis, C. Gane, K. Hall, K. Koudele, J. Ledesma, G. Lovhoiden, S. Moncrieff, T. Newkirk, N. Nosworthy, L. Ruhupatty, G. Russell, B. Sedlacek, J. Sigvartsen, A. Solis, M. Ullom, L. Weldon, R. Zdor

Regrets/absent: D. Fortin, B. Gibson, J. Lim, R. Perez-Schulz, C. Sigua, D. Village

Guests: K. Mattingly, R. Root, R. J. Bailey, D. McBride

Votes & Actions taken (numbers [n] represent items on original agenda)

[2] Minutes of 31 August 2016 Senate Meeting. MOTION: Move to approve minutes as presented (T. Newkirk.). Seconded; VOTE PASSED.

[3a] Committee (UGC) report Dean K. Mattingly presented the Andrews University Unified Framework of Outcomes (AU UFO). Dean Mattingly, Associate Dean Root and R. J. Bailey answered questions.

Report: The AU UFO project is intended to ensure that all Andrews University Graduates are able to do what we say they should be able to do. The status quo is that it is too easy for different faculty and departments to work separately. The AU UFO is try to change that. It is about serving all students by guiding innovations and providing a definition of an Andrews student.

The Undergraduate Council supported the current AU UFO concept and timeline and recommended that the Senate form a faculty steering committee to finalize the UFO document and consider implementation from a faculty perspective.

MOTION: To set up an ad hoc faculty steering committee with the following parameters (F. Cortez). Seconded; VOTE PASSED.

UFO Steering Committee Mandate:				
h	у			r approving academic policies

Discussion: Concerning the make-up of the committee, the Senators felt that there was not enough information about the knowledge, skills, and availability of faculty to set up a committee. The Senate requests that the current UFO development team assemble a list of names for the Senate Executive Committee to review at the next Executive Committee meeting (Oct. 12).

[4] Election of Executive Committee Positions—The existing Senate Executive Committee proposed a solution to fill the Executive Secretary position by moving some existing Executive Committee members to new positions.

- A. K. Bailey (Communications Officer) and K. Koudele (Vice Chair) resigned their current positions on the Executive Committee. Their resignations were accepted.
- B. The following officers were elected by secret ballot to the Executive Committee, joining J. Ledesma (Chair) and T. Newkirk (Parliamentarian): K. Bailey (Executive Secretary), K. Koudele (Communications Officer), K. Hall (Vice Chair).
- C. In order to allocate time to the Executive Secretary position, K. Bailey announced his intention to resign as the Senate representative to the Undergraduate Council. S. Badenas was elected as Senate representative to the Undergraduate Council.
- D. J. Sigvartsen was elected as Senate representative to the Graduate Council because there are no current senators on the Graduate Council (

Senate Discussion & Announcements

[1] Welcome & Prayer by J. Ledesma personal testimony. Every day is a gift. Only God can provide whatever you need.

[3b] Committee (FPDC) report D. McBride reported that FPDC has changed its terms of reference to recognize that it is now reporting to the Faculty Senate. Those terms of reference and changes to search committee policy will be sent to Senate for review prior to next meeting (October 26).

[3c] Committee (GC, AOC) reports no reports at this time.

Next faculty senate meeting: October 26, 2016 at 6:00 pm in the Whirlpool Room, Chan Shun Hall.